News Flash

Fire Department

Posted on: October 26, 2023

2023 Awards and Promotions Ceremony

The New Rochelle Fire Department hosted their Awards and Promotion Ceremony on Wednesday, October 19 in the Council Chambers in City Hall. The ceremony started off by remembering those who lost their lives in the line of duty, and continued with the promotions of six members followed by awards presentations to members of the department for exemplary service during the past year. 


  • Deputy Chief: Sean DeNigris
  • Fire Captain: Anthony Cruciata, Michael O’Keefe
  •  Fire Lieutenant: Christian Carozo, David Wagstaff, Frank Vallelonga

A variety of awards, including Unit Citations, Lifesaving Awards and a Class 1 Citation, were given for a dozen separate incidents, each highlighting courage and dedication. Special awards were also presented for exceptional service: Firefighter Christopher Battle was awarded the Fire Commissioner’s Award; NRFD mechanics John Parapugna and Joe Carcia received the 2023 Arthur Luce Klein Award, in recognition for their support and dedication to the department; and Lt. Daniel Betker was awarded the Captain Andy DiMaggio Award. Veteran Ribbons were given to Fire Fighters Matthew Ciccarelli, Christopher Cordaro, and Dante Bongiorni.

“During Fire Prevention Month, we recognize the essential work our department performs all year long. Today, we honor those members who have made the ultimate sacrifice, those who served before us, and those currently in our department whose distinguished service has impacted our community and beyond,” said Chief Sandor. 



Facebook Twitter Email