News Flash Home
The original item was published from 10/23/2023 8:44:00 PM to 11/2/2023 12:00:03 AM.

News Flash

Community News

Posted on: October 12, 2023

[ARCHIVED] LWV Candidates Forum #1

VIEW LWV FORUMS ON DEMAND- click on this link and find the Forum date

The League of Women Voters of New Rochelle announces a change in the two evenings of area candidate forums in order to accommodate candidates’ schedules. The contest for the County Legislative District 11 representative  has been moved from the October 16 forum to October 23.

On Monday, October 16, 6 pm, the program will start with the County Legislative District 10 contest followed by the two candidates for Mayor of New Rochelle.  On Monday, October 23 at 6 pm, the two candidates for CL District 11 will open the program followed by the candidates for the five of six City Council districts that are contested.  In District 2, incumbent Albert Tarantino has no opponent and thus will not participate.

Both forums will be at New Rochelle City Hall, 515 North Ave. (entrance from the rear parking lot). Also, NRTV will broadcast the forums live on Verizon Channel 28 and Cablevision Channel 75, They will also be available for replay on demand on the days before the November 7 general election.

A League moderator from outside the area represented in each forum will conduct the forum.

Questions from the public may be submitted at the event or emailed ahead to  District specific questions for County and City seats are encouraged.

At the October 16 forum, candidates for Mayor are Yadira Ramos Herbert (Democrat, Working Families Party) and Louis J. Trangucci (Republican, Common Sense Party); and candidates for County Legislative District 10 are Beth Acocella (R, CSP) and Judah J. Holstein (D).     

On October 23, the candidates for City Council are as follows: 

District 1: Martha L Lopez (D, WFP), and Philip A. Sidoti (R, CSP)

District 3: Kwamain L. Dixon (WFP) and David Peters (D)

District 4: Shane Osinloye (D, WFP) and Patricia Zaffo (R)

District 5: Judy Jakab-Derocco (R) and incumbent Sara R. Kaye (D) 

District 6:  Joseph I. Farca (R, Common Sense) and Matthew A. Stern (D).  

County Legislative District 11 candidates are incumbent Terry A. Clements (D), and John T. Hynes (R, Neighborhood Party). 

Candidate and voting information are available on the League sponsored web site Vote   

Volunteers from the Westchester Chapter Alumne of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority will register voters at a table at the forums.

For further information, contact Joan Alexander at or 914 632 2308.  Check out our website                    

League of Women Voters of New Rochelle information
Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Community News

Lunar New Year 2024 - SOCIAL_ENG

New Rochelle Hosts First Lunar New Year Lantern Ceremony

Posted on: February 16, 2024 | Last Modified on: April 26, 2016
NYE 2024 Kick-off Party

New Year's Kick-off Party

Posted on: December 20, 2023
Give A Gift - English

Annual Give a Gift

Posted on: November 13, 2023

Home Energy Assistance Program Opens

Posted on: November 13, 2023
Beeline bus graphic of bumblebee

Bee-Line Bus System Fall Service Change

Posted on: August 28, 2023
Opioid Community Forum  Resource Fair Instagram Post Square

Opioid Forum and Resource Fair

Posted on: June 16, 2023

Juneteenth Events!

Posted on: June 1, 2023

Memorial Day Ceremonies

Posted on: May 18, 2023

Call for Poets

Posted on: April 13, 2023