City News

Posted on: May 18, 2017

New Rochelle Police Department Honors Members at Memorial & Awards Ceremony


In observance of Police Memorial Week, the New Rochelle Police Department held its annual Memorial and Awards Ceremony on Wednesday, May 17 at the Greentree Country Club. The event honored department members for their outstanding contributions as well as the memory of those officers who sacrificed their lives in the service to the City. This year’s keynote speaker was retired NYPD Homicide Detective Randy Jurgensen, who is best known as the lead investigator into the murder of NYPD Patrolman Phil Cardillo, about whom Jurgensen also wrote in his book, Circle of Six.

Police Officer of the Year was presented to Police Officer Nicholas Zuzulo and Community Service Officer James Sheehy was named Civilian Employee of the Year. Nearly 100 members of the department were recognized for their heroic accomplishments and extraordinary work in the community with Livesaving, Commendation and Investigation awards and Unit Citations. A full list follows below.

Mayor Noam Bramson also presented an award to three elementary students for their Police Memorial Essays. First place winner, Marcello Magazzu from Davis Elementary School read his winning piece. City Manager Chuck Strome presented the Citizen of the Year award to Emilio Dedeno and Travis Okelo.

Twelve Year Perfect Attendance Award
Police Commissioner Patrick Carroll
Detective Michael Ciafardini
Lieutenant Edward Hayes

Ten Year Perfect Attendance Award
Lieutenant Daniel Conca
Detective Claudio Carpano

Nine Year Perfect Attendance Award
Police Officer Francesco Provenzale

Eight Year Perfect Attendance Award
Police Officer Gary Lehning

Six Year Perfect Attendance Award
Detective Lieutenant Christopher Hearle
Detective Luigi Amico
Detective Sergeant Myron Joseph

Five Year Perfect Attendance Award
Detective Lieutenant Gary Robinson
Detective Gregory Herring

Police Officer Anthony Colotti
Police Officer Anthony D’Angelo

Three Year Perfect Attendance Award
Detective Yadilene Machado
Detective Michael Regina
Police Officer Scott Wallach
Police Officer Nicholas Zuzulo

Two Year Perfect Attendance Award
Detective Vincent Pisano
Police Officer Michael Alberico
Police Officer Michael Dassler
Police Officer Christopher Guglielmo

One Year Perfect Attendance Award
Lieutenant J. Collins Coyne
Lieutenant George Rosenbergen
Sergeant Timothy Kelly
Detective Timothy Adrian
Detective Evangelos Geralis
Detective Dwayne Jones
Detective Sean Kane
Detective Liliana Sanchez
Police Officer Ted Cordaro
Police Officer Steven Geertgens
Police Officer Matthew Glass
Police Officer Samuel Goldman
Police Officer Jose Pena
Police Officer Michael Vaccaro

Facebook Twitter Google Plus Email

Other News in City News

Snow Storm 3-20-18

Posted on: March 20, 2018

2018 Proposed Budget Released

Posted on: November 9, 2017

New Rochelle Firefighters Save Toddler

Posted on: November 2, 2017

New Rochelle Bids for Amazon HQ2

Posted on: October 24, 2017
IMG_0107 (2)

New Equipment for NRFD

Posted on: July 14, 2017