City News

Posted on: May 12, 2017

2017 New Rochelle Walk of Fame Induction

2017 Walk of Fame inductees

New Inductees Welcomed to New Rochelle Walk of Fame 

The City of New Rochelle inducted new members into the “Walk of Fame” in Ruby Dee Park at Library Green on Friday, May 12. This year’s luminaries included actresses Lillian and Dorothy Gish, actress Claire Trevor, artist Reginald Marsh, Dr. Henry J. Heimlich, and NFL Players Fritz Pollard, Kyle Rote, Fran Tarkenton, Matt Snell, George Starke, Ray Rice, and Courtney Greene.

The New Rochelle Walk of Fame, installed in 2011 in Library Green, is a unique tribute to nationally notable individuals with distinct ties to New Rochelle. Each inductee is memorialized with a 20” x 14” full color historical interpretive sign telling his or her story in words and graphics. The Walk is a micro history of America in a nutshell as reflected in the lives of New Rochelle’s famous sons and daughters, representing the arts, business, politics, education, the media, entertainment, and sports. The signs are strategically located in the gardens lining the Library Green pathway and were created and funded by former resident and historian Roderick Kennedy Jr., working in partnership with the City of New Rochelle and the Downtown Business Improvement District. A list of former inductees is as follows:

2011 Inductees 

Doll Manufacturer Madame Beatrice Alexander; Actress Teresa Brewer; Writer and Mythologist Joseph Campbell; Dancer Irene Castle; Suffragist Carrie Chapman Catt; Concert Soprano Ellabelle Davis; Actors, Directors, Producers, and Civil Rights Activists Ossie Davis and Ruby Dee; Vaudevillian Eddie Foy; Baseball Player Lou Gehrig; CBS Producer Don Hewitt; Financier and Philanthropist Adrian Iselin and family; Screenwriter and Director Elia Kazan; Cartoonist Walter Lantz (“Woody Woodpecker”); Illustrator/Artist Joseph Leyendecker; Opera Singer Robert Merrill; Pamphleteer Thomas Paine; Opera Singer Jan Peerce; Dancer and Cultural Anthropologist, Pearl Primus; Cartoonist Alex Raymond (“Flash Gordon”); Artist Frederic Remington; Illustrator/Artist Norman Rockwell; Saint Elizabeth Seton; Streetcar Inventor John Stephenson; T.V. Personality Buffalo Bob Smith; Civil Rights Activist Whitney M. Young, Jr.

2013 Inductees

Composer Jerry Boch and Writer Joseph Stein, (“Fiddler on the Roof”); Illustrator, Cartoonist Nell Brinkley; Novelist E. L. Doctorow; Television Personality and Comedian Jay Leno; Founder of the United Negro College Fund (UNCF) Dr. Frederick Douglass Patterson; T.V. Writer and Director Carl Reiner and T.V. Personality, Actor, Writer, Director Rob Reiner; and Mighty Mouse (Paul Terry, Animator).

2014 Inductees

Composers J. Fred Coots & Robert Allen; Mathematicians Richard Courant & Kurt Friedrichs; Talk Radio Pioneer Barry Gray; Game Show Host Monty Hall; Baseball Player Willie Mays; Composer Alan Menken; Actor Richard Roundtree; Playwright Robert Sherwood; Glen Island Resort Owner and Transportation Magnate John Starin; Actress Francis Sternhagen; Film Pioneers Edwin and Gertrude Thanhouser.


Facebook Twitter Google Plus Email

Other News in City News

Free 2HRHoliday Parking

Free 2-Hour Holiday Parking December 1-30

Posted on: November 28, 2017

Court Closings for the Holidays

Posted on: November 17, 2017

2018 Proposed Budget Released

Posted on: November 9, 2017

New Rochelle Firefighters Save Toddler

Posted on: November 2, 2017

New Rochelle Bids for Amazon HQ2

Posted on: October 24, 2017

Fall Leaf Collection Begins October 10

Posted on: October 5, 2017

September is National Preparedness Month

Posted on: September 28, 2017
IMG_0107 (2)

New Equipment for NRFD

Posted on: July 14, 2017

"Ideally Yours" Website Launched

Posted on: February 16, 2017